Vice Presidents approved at AGM 11 May 2013

Vera Baird QC
Appointed Chair of ‘Everywoman Safe Everywhere – Commission on Women’s Safety eest, November 2011. Solicitor-General and Assistant Regional Minister for the North East in the last government, from 2006 to the last General Election, Vera Baird was Under-Secretary of State in the Ministry of Justice from 2005 and Labour MP for Redcar from 2001 to 2010. During her term as a Minister she took the Tribunals Courts and Enforcement Act and the Equality Act 2010 through all its House of Commons stages. As a backbencher before 2005 she was a member of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, the Work and Pensions Select Committee and on the Standing Committees of many Bills including the Domestic Violence Crime and Victims Act, the Sexual Offences Act and the Criminal Justice Act 2003.

Appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2000, when she was Deputy Head of the Chambers of Michael Mansfield QC, she is an Honorary fellow of St Hilda’s College Oxford and of Teesside University and a Visiting Professor at South Bank University in London. Her publications include studies of rape and defending battered women who kill. 

Elected Police and Crime Commissioner for Northumbria in 2012.

Rita Donaghy CBE
Former Chair of Advisory Conciliation Arbitration Service (ACAS) and former Interim Chair of the Committee on Standards in Public Life (the Nolan Committee).   President of the TUC 1999/2000. Previously Chair of the TUC Women’s Committee, member of Low Pay Commission until 2000, member of EOC Task Group on Equal Pay, past member of ETUC Executive Committee. Elected member of UNISON National Executive Council. Awarded OBE in 1997 for services to industrial relations and CBE in 2005 for services to employment relations.   Conducted Review of Women’s National Commission in 2007 and “and produced a Report for Government on Fatalities in the Construction Industry in 2009.” 

Pat Hawkes MBE
Retired primary teacher. Labour Councillor for Brighton 1981 to date.  On Brighton and Hove Unitary Council, Chair of Children, Families and Schools Committee. Executive Member of the National Union of Teachers for 13 years, twice National President.  Retired member of TUC general Council. Member of TUC Women’s, Lesbian & Gay Rights and Disabilities Committees. Worker representative at ILO Geneva for four years, including service on Convention on Worst forms of Child Labour. Awarded MBE in 2008 for public service.

Helena Kennedy QC
A Bencher of Grays Inn and Chair of the Human Rights Genetics Commission, previously Chair of the British Council. As a member of the House of Lords her special interests are human rights, civil liberties and social justice. She was UK Woman of Europe 1995 and is President of the National Children’s Bureau. During 2005/6 she chaired the POWER Inquiry into Britain’s democracy. She is a frequent writer and broadcaster on law and women’s and human rights.

Alice Mahon
Labour MP for Halifax from1987 to 2005, Labour Party member for almost 50 years, trade union steward and District Councillor 1982 – 87. Member of North Atlantic Assembly, Chair of all party group on Breast Cancer, member of all party group on Human Rights and Chair of Committee for Peace in the Balkans. On the National Council of CND

Gloria Mills CBE
Past President of the TUC, Director and National Organiser Equal Opportunities of UNISON, member of the Employment Appeal Tribunal, member of the TUC General Council , and Women’s Committee.  Former member of Department for Education and Employment’s Race Relations Forum and the Home Secretary’s Race Relations Forum. She started life in the private sector in law publishing, held various lay member posts in the forerunners of the Graphical Print and Media Union and became a Regional Officer of the National Union of Public Employees in 1985 and Senior National Officer in 1987 until it merged to become UNISON in 1993. Frances O’Grady
TUC Deputy General Secretary since 2003, the first woman to hold this position. Joined the TUC in 1994, after working for TGWU on social justice and equality issues. Was director of the TUC New Unionism project that launched the Organising Academy and played a key role in setting up Unionlearn. Serves on the Low Pay Commission, is a member of the Skills Funding Agency Advisory Group and Council member of the Women of the Year Lunch and Foundation. Active in the development of the TUC energy and climate change policy and sits on the Government’s Green Economy Council.

Margaret Prosser OBE
Chair of the Women and Work Commission 2004-6 and Women’s National Commission until March 2007. Previously Deputy General Secretary Transport and General Workers Union, Member of the Low Pay Commission until 2005 and member of the Employment Appeal Tribunal until 2006. District Organiser of TGWU 1983-85, National Women’s Secretary 1985-1992. Member of the TUC General Council for 11 years and TUC President 1995/6. Awarded OBE in July 1997 for services to Industrial Relations and Women’s Issues and now Baroness. Deputy Chair of the new Commission for Equality & Human Rights